The Liebster Blog Award: I’d like to thank…

Posted: February 8, 2013 in Shameless self-promotion
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Paul D. Dail, one of my “Undead: Ten Tales of Zombies” ToC bedfellows, has given me a Liebster Blog Award.

And what, you might ask, is a Liebster Award? Initial Google inquiries seem to suggest that it shares characteristics with an urban myth; nobody seems to be entirely sure where or how it started, and the rules of the award appear to have evolved over time. I’m going to enter into the apparent spirit of the awards by modifying them just a little bit to suit me, but if you want to see Paul’s rules, go visit his blog (he’s a very hospitable host).

These are the rules I’m going with  –

– Paste the award picture on the blog.

– provide 11 random facts about me and answer the 11 questions asked by the person who nominated me (obviously notifying said person about this post).

– Nominate some more people to answer the same questions.

11 Random Facts About Me

1. I’m left-handed. Anecdotal evidence suggests that a disproportionately high number of writers are left-handed.

2. I love anchovies.By Gottfried Lindauer (1839-1926) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

3. I am a direct descendent of  Chief Kamariera Te Hau Takiri Wharepapa.

4. My second child is named after St. Alia of the Knife from the novel “Dune”.

5. When I was pregnant with my first child, I worked for a community of Catholic friars, running their retreat centre. Some visitors mistook me for a Sister in mufti – until I stood up from behind my desk…

6. I am the oldest of seven assorted full and half siblings.

7. I have a theory that one of the secret ingredients in KFC is catnip.

8. My IQ according to the free online test I did just now is 125. My greatest strength was (not surprisingly) Verbal. Tomorrow, with another test…it’s anybody’s guess.

9. My story in “Undead: Ten Tales of Zombies” was inspired by my aunt who died of cancer.

10. The first story I ever sold for publication, “Metal Mouth”, was inspired by her sons.

11. The smell of fresh earthworks makes me nostalgic.

And the answer to Paul’s 11 questions are –

1) Before now, had you ever heard of the Liebster Award?

Nope.

2) Before now, had you ever heard of me?

Yep.

3) How long have you been blogging?

Since September 2010.

4) What is the primary purpose of your blog?

I’d been told – many, many times – that writers Must Have A Blog for promotional purposes. And oh, because the fans demand it, daaahling! The shameless self-promotion angle is still there, but I’ve found that I get more satisfaction out of using my blog to promote other people.

5) Where do your blogging ideas come from?

Random stuff that happens in my life, mostly.

6) Do you blog according to a schedule or is it more random?

I aim for two posts a week. Some weeks I win, some weeks I lose.

7) If you have a day job, what is it? If not, just say something interesting.

I work part time as a teacher aide. I discovered this calling (and it does feel like a calling) by accident; I was volunteering so much at my kids’ school that they finally gave in and decided to pay me. Anecdotal evidence also suggests that a disproportionately high number of writers also work, or have worked, in education. Anyone want to propose a theory why that is?

8) Which search engine is set as default on your browser?

What – you mean I have a choice besides Google?

9) Did you have to check your browser before answering #8?

Fractured_Spirits_eBook_uploadNope.

10) What is the title of the last book you read?

Fractured Spirits: Hauntings in the Peoria State Hospital. Quite timely, as I’m off on a horror writers’ weekend retreat in an abandoned mental hospital in a couple of weeks’ time.

11) Have you ever met a famous person?

Define famous…some of the cast and crew of the 1993 movie “The Piano” stayed at the hotel at which I worked when they were filming, so I got to wait on Sam Neill and Holly Hunter.

#

My chosen recipients of the Liebster Award have been selected kinda sorta at random from the list of blogs I follow. Some are old friends, some are new-ish discoveries. And they are –

Noor A Jahangir a.k.a. The Troll King

The Bookworm’s Fancy

A.J. Ponder

The Horrifically Horrifying Horror Blog

S.L. Schmitz

Werzombies Press

 

 

Comments
  1. […] When Tracie McBride of Exquisite Corpse nominated me for a Liebster Award I had to think really hard – what is a Liebster Award?  And I had really no idea, but then again (having checked out the internet and and discovered it’s origins were  sharing the love for small blogs award) it seems nobody really knows where or how it started or exactly what it is. […]

  2. Paul D. Dail says:

    Great random facts about you. “until I stood up from behind my desk”- great line.

    Couple other of note:

    – Speaking of Dune, I studied under Bill Ransom who co-wrote a few novels with Frank Herbert. One of my better academic experiences, as many college writing professors look down their noses at genre writers.

    – My story in “Undead” was also inspired by a family member: my grandmother who claimed at one point to be hearing “Ave Maria” where no music was actually playing. Much different than where my story ended up going, but that was the moment that got the wheels turning.

    – And catnip, eh? That makes sense🙂

    I like your responses to the 11 questions, except for the fact that those were the 11 questions posed to me, not the 11 questions I came up with for you. I certainly won’t make you redo this assignment (can you tell I’m a teacher for my day job?)… although I would’ve been curious to know.

    Hope all is going well in the rest of your writing endeavors.

    Paul

    • Studying under Bill Ransom – I’m jealous!

      And…can you tell that I skim read far too often and miss important details, like which set of questions I’m meant to be answering?😉

  3. And now it’s your turn!

  4. ajponder says:

    Nice one Tracie – you thoroughly deserve the award – I really enjoy reading your blog🙂

Leave a Reply

