It’s been a Good List week for me. First up was this article posted on Examiner.com on Valentine’s Day Eve. February is Women in Horror Month, and the list aims to give readers an decent-sized sampler of female horror writers to broaden readers’ horizons. It is by no means intended to be a definitive and/or exhaustive list; nevertheless, I’m proud and honoured that, when someone says, “Female Horror Writers worth reading – go!”, my name is one of the first 90-something to spring to (at least some people’s) mind.

Then this morning I opened my emails to receive the joyous news that I’m an Aurealis Award finalist. The category is Best Fantasy Short Fiction, and the story is “The Touch of the Taniwha”, published in Dagan Books’ FISH anthology. You can view the entire list of finalists in all categories here.

So – happy, happy me!

Now it’s back to down to earth. There’s a Zen saying that goes something like – “Before Enlightenment, chop wood carry water. After Enlightenment, chop wood carry water.” For me, it’s “Before Recognition, fold laundry shop for groceries. After Recognition, fold laundry shop for groceries.” (Actually, my To Do list is a lot longer than that, but you get the idea).

Excuse me while I go fold something.

Leave a Reply

