“You know how my story Drive, She Said made it onto the recommended reading list for the year’s best Australian fantasy and horror?” I say to my husband this evening.

“Ummm…” My husband communicates with me in much the same way as the dog does, with lots of mutely eloquent looks and the occasional lick to the face. This Look says, “I have no idea what you’re talking about, but I sense I should pretend like I do.”

“Well, I have even more exciting news! At least, it’s exciting to me. Let me explain…

“Uh huh…” Look number two, characterized by lots of sidelong glances at the TV, says, “Is this going to take long? ‘Cos this episode of Arrow isn’t going to watch itself.”

“There’s this woman called Ellen Datlow, and she’s like the best horror short story editor in the world, ever, and she puts out this annual anthology of her picks of the best horror short stories published in the previous year, and, well, I’m not in the anthology but I am on her Honourable Mention list.

“Hmmm.” Look number three: “So far, I’m not impressed.”

The eight year old chimes in. “Yeah, and Neil Gaiman is on the list too, and…what was that guy’s name again, Mum? Steve…”

“Stephen King.”

“Wait – what?” says my husband, suddenly paying attention. “You’re on a list with Stephen King?”

“Why, yes – yes, I am,” I say, not quite believing it myself. “But more importantly – Ellen Datlow knows I exist.”

 

Comments
  1. I got two stories on the ‘Honorable Mentions’ list for Ellen Datlow’s Year’s Best Horror, too. Not this year, though. Some years ago. The Bridge Chamber, and Burning.
    Whether she knows we exist… I’d like to think so. But those lists are long. I fear she has forgotten my stories already.
    Still, it’s nice. And I’m hoping that one year one of my stories will make it into a Year’s Best Horror Anthology, not just the Mentions list. 🙂
    Fingers crossed.

  2. I got two stories on the ‘Honorable Mentions’ list for Ellen Datlow’s Year’s Best Horror, too. Not this year, though. Some years ago. The Bridge Chamber, and Burning.
    Whether she knows we exist… I’d like to think so. But those lists are long. I fear she has forgotten my stories already.
    Still, it’s nice. And I’m hoping that one year one of my stories will make it into a Year’s Best Horror Anthology, not just the Mentions list. 🙂
    Fingers crossed.

    • With the prodigiously huge reading list Ellen Datlow must have, I don’t know how she remembers what she read last month, let alone last year!

      I know they say you shouldn’t care what other people think of you, but I have to confess I live for external affirmation. Awards, competition wins, Best Of lists, even positive reviews from complete strangers…they’re all little whispers in my ear, saying, “You don’t suck.” 😉

Leave a Reply

