Next up in the Demonologia Biblica series is Jonathan Green.

The Torment of Saint Anthony

My story began, as so many of the stories I write for Dean M Drinkel do, with a conversation on Facebook. Dean messaged me saying that he had a new anthology about demons coming up and would I like to be involved. I said yes, and a few days later sent him a message saying how about I write something based on The Torment of Saint Anthony, a painting by Michelangelo.

I think I was researching something else at the time when I came across the painting, but it’s always been a favourite of mine. Dean replied that it was a great idea, just so long as the demon involved began with the letter J. So I returned to my Dictionary of Demons and discovered Jerobaal, a demon known particularly for possessing people. From there the story virtually wrote itself.

Michelangelo Buonarroti [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

The Torment of Saint Anthony by Michelangelo

* * * * *

Author BioJonathan Green - Author

Jonathan Green is a writer of speculative fiction, with more than forty-five books to his name. He has written everything from Fighting Fantasy gamebooks to Doctor Who novels, by way of numerous Black Library publications and myriad short stories. He is also the creator of the Pax Britannia steampunk series for Abaddon Books. To find out more about his current projects visit www.JonathanGreenAuthor.com.

Leave a Reply

