Guest post: Kate Jonez

Posted: April 11, 2013 in Guest blogs
Tags: , , , ,

I’m kicking off a series (at least, I hope it will be a series – depends how many authors get back to me…) of guest posts from my fellow authors in The Demonologia Biblica. First up – Kate Jonez gives us a little background on Gentleman Gaap.

In my story “Gentleman Gaap” I was playing with the idea of a demon whose specialty contrasted dramatically with with the place he materialized. Gaap is, according to the Lesser Key of Solomon, a great prince of Hell. He’s controls water and teaches Philosophy. I wanted to put this polished and posh demon in the most backwater spot on earth I could think of so I plopped him down in Midway at the southern most tip of Pickens County where most folks are as broke as the Ten Commandments.

I had a lot of fun writing this story. I got to dust off some language I put away years ago when I’d escap— um moved away from Texas. The moment I started writing, the cadence and expressions came flooding back. It took me weeks to stop saying things like: It’s hotter’n a goat in a pepper patch, or, shut your tater trap. I’m back to normal now, though. My family is glad.

* * * * *

Kate Jonez Bio

Kate Jonez writes dark fantasy fiction. Her debut novel CANDY HOUSE will be available June 2013 from Evil Jester Press.

She is also chief editor at Omnium Gatherum, a small press dedicated to providing unique dark fantasy fiction in print, ebook and audio formats.

Leave a Reply

