The Next Big Thing (a.k.a. My First Blog Hop!)

Posted: October 30, 2012 in Shameless self-promotion
Tags: , , , , ,

Tag – I’m it! Thanks, Lee Pletzers, for thinking of me.

These are the rules:
* Give credit to the person / blog that tagged you 
* Post the rules for the blog hop 
*Answer these ten questions about your current WIP (Work In Progress) on your blog 
*Tag five other writers/bloggers and add their links so we can hop over and meet them.

Ten Interview Questions for The Next Big Thing:

What is the working title of your book?
Trading Up
Where did the idea come from for the book?
The idea came from a short story of mine of the same name, and the idea for the short story came from a starter sentence “Mamma has always had a love for other people’s possessions.” And the sentence came from this magazine several years ago. Funny how an idea can percolate for that long…
What genre does your book fall under?
Horror / Supernatural.
Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
Now, this is a test of my creativity, considering I haven’t even finished an outline on this thing, let alone named my characters! I’m imagining a kind of supernatural Thelma and Louise, a story of female friendship squaring off against a seductive supernatural menace (NOT a sparkly vampire, in case you’re wondering).  I’d like Helena Bonham Carter for “Thelma” and a slightly overweight, frazzled-looking blonde for “Louise” (I’ve just described myself, but I can’t act).
What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?
This genie-in-a-bottle can’t grant any wishes, but it can make all your nightmares come true.
Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
Agencies? Do they still exist? I’ll let you know what I’m going to do with it once I’ve done writing it.
How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?
At the rate I’m going, about eleven years…
What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?
If I’d read anything else like this, I wouldn’t be writing it…oh, all right. Think of it as a bleak, grown-up “Bartimaeus”.
Who or what inspired you to write this book?
The promises I have made to myself and nearly everyone else I know that I am going to write a novel some day.
What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?
Some might be curious to see if I can successfully make the transition from short stories to novels.  I know I am.
Next Five Big Things (hyperlinked to their respective blogs)
* * * * *
Note for astute readers – the above five tagged authors have two things in common.  Correctly identify those two things in a comment on this post and I’ll email you a free ebook of “Ghosts Can Bleed”.
Comments
  1. all fine ladies and all fantastic DCP authors!

Leave a Reply

