Six Sentence Sunday – Week One

Posted: August 28, 2011 in Six Sentence Sunday
Tags: , , , , , , ,

It’s been nearly a week since my last blog post, and I have no idea what to write about.  Oh, the pressure, the pressure…  So I sit down at my laptop and start surfing wordpress.com in the desperate hope that I might strike upon some inspiration.  And I come across this thing called “Six Sentence Sunday”.

Bingo.

The rules are simple – post a six sentence excerpt (on Sunday) of a piece of your writing.  It can be published, unpublished, or a work in progress.  Following on serendipitously from my last blog post, the inventors of Six Sentence Sunday appear to be writers of erotica.  So I don’t think I’m going to join their party.  It doesn’t say anything on their blog’s FAQ’s about not stealing their idea and going off on your own, so I’ll just have a party of one in my little corner of the blogosphere until someone sends me a cease and desist order.

Without further ado, here is a six sentence excerpt from “Ghosts Can Bleed”, the eponymous short story in my collection.

He gets more and more insubstantial every day, so soon he won’t be able to do even that. And he can’t make love to Doreen any more.  He tried it once, not long after he died.  He climbed on top of her and sunk halfway into her body, sucked under by her body fat.  Struggling to get out, he got caught up on her ribs.  He could feel her heart beating where his used to be, a great, alien, pulsing knot of muscle, and he had to fight to hold down the gorge that no longer existed. 

 

(Further proof that when I do write about sex, it’s not even remotely sexy.)

Also whilst mucking about on WordPress, I find a little instructional article called “How To Get More Traffic”.  Skimming down the To Do List – done it, done it, doing that, I hope I’m doing that right, I’m too cheap to try that – I glean one gem of advice.

Take requests.

Just like this octopus, I take requests.

Of course, it’s something of a Catch-22; I can’t take requests if nobody reads my blog, yet the purpose of taking requests is to get people to read my blog.  But what the hell – I’ll give it a go.

So to all nine of my subscribers, all of my Facebook friends who occasionally dip into my blog posts, all you complete strangers who have accidentally blundered your way into my blog –

What do you want me to write about?  And please, please, PLEASE don’t make me regret asking…

Comments
  1. Six Sentence Sunday – great idea, Tracie! Sorry I’m late replying (I took an intertube break this weekend).

    Here’s mine:

    “The urge to laugh is almost as overpowering as the agony. The irony of it isn’t lost on him. He has lost six teeth over his fifteen years due to decay and his fear of the needle, and the teeth he extracts now are healthy and free from cavities and gum disease.
    The lower canine is easy to draw; it slips smoothly from its fleshy socket like an earthworm plucked from grave soil. That disappoints him; what is the point of extraction if it isn’t painful and damaging?”

    Extract from FAIRLIGHT

    • Excellent choice of sentences! I really want to read it now, to find out why this nutcase is extracting his own perfectly healthy teeth.

      Maybe we should start this up over on the DCP blog.

  2. Portal/corner…that sounds awfully technical for a techno-tard like me. Unless YOU’D like to set it up, and I’ll join yours…

  3. Ellen says:

    Yeah, six sentence Sunday sounds like fun…

  4. Max says:

    You know, it would be a neat game to post six sentences from a published book (one that people have probably read), and you have to guess which book or author it’s from. Of course, you wouldn’t post some random sentences that anyone could have written … like for example: say if you were doing King’s IT, you could post six sentences from the beginning where that little boy is chasing that paper boat down the street. Hmm … just a thought!

    As for requests, I am a new reader of your blog so I am not sure what you have already done before. Therefore, I am going to request a faux interview between a CNN reporter and that extremely musically talented octopus up there. I want to know more about this octopus. I want to know its hopes, its dreams, its past. What demons is it hiding? What is its idea of a perfect Sunday?

  5. A J Ponder says:

    You could always set up a “six sentence Sunday” portal/corner. I’d join 🙂

Leave a Reply

