Name Dropping and A Middle Aged Squee

Posted: November 6, 2010 in Shameless self-promotion

I’m excited.  Very, very excited.  I’m so excited, I could squee, except that it would be most undignified for a woman of my advancing years.

My story “Last Chance to See” will be appearing in “Devil Dolls and Duplicates”, an Australian anthology of reprint dark speculative fiction short stories.  It is scheduled for publication in February 2011 (and I WILL be reminding you in February to buy it, buy it, buy it!).

And why am I so excited?

It’s the company I will be keeping.  Not since “Voyagers: Science Fiction Poetry from New Zealand”  have I been this excited.  The line up of authors has me doing Wayne’s World-like “I am not worthy” obeisances. There’s Kaaron Warren, winner of Ditmar and Aurealis awards.  There’s #1 New York Times-best  Sean Williams, whose short story collection “Magic Dirt” is on my bookshelf.  Lee Battersby, who has won even more awards than Kaaron Warren, including a Writers of the Future competition.  Daniel I Russell, a Facebook friend of mine whose novel “Samhane” is due out any day now, and who will be guest blogging here on 24 November (our work has appeared together before, in issue 43 of Andromeda Spaceways Inflight Magazine).

There are even some accomplished authors in the line up who I know personally.  As in, I’ve sat in the same room as them, broken bread with them, talked with them…  I think they might even know my name.  Hi, Lucy Sussex.  G’day, Jason Nahrung.

The story itself is also especially significant to me.  It was first published in JAAM 26, a New Zealand literary magazine, and it was inspired by a family gathering  to see my aunt who had been diagnosed with terminal cancer.

Does inclusion in this anthology mean that I’ve finally Arrived?  Probably not.  But it  feels like it’s brought me just a little bit closer to the end of the rainbow.

Comments
  1. A J Ponder says:

    Congrats Tracie, – ta da! Arrival – definitely
    but you’re only ever as good as….

    Don’t you love writing🙂

    • Arrival? That depends on where I was trying to get to, I suppose. Reminds me of a quote – To be sure of hitting the target, shoot first, and whatever you hit, call it the target.

  2. Natalie says:

    That is fantastic news, congratulations! And you are never too old to ‘squee’ or put smiley faces in your sentences :o)

Leave a Reply

