The Grinch In Me

Posted: December 15, 2011 in Shameless self-promotion
Tags: , , , , ,

Christmas is a sucky time for a writer.

Let me be more specific.  Christmas is a sucky time for a nominally Christian, female writer with young children and a job and no servants.  It’s enough to tempt a woman to convert to Islam or Judaism or Buddhism or any number of religions that don’t celebrate Christmas.  Perhaps I should become a Jehovah’s Witness like my across-the-road neighbour and do away with Christmas AND birthdays.  Especially since my youngest child has a birthday twelve days before Christmas for which I must plan a celebration around the endless procession of end-of-year lunches and dinners and bring-a-plates and Kris Kringle events and visits to the post office to both give and receive, and…

So that’s my excuse for why I haven’t written anything new lately.

No more Christmas. Or birthdays. Mummy's too busy super-gluing her butt to her computer chair.

Now, where was that good news?  I know I left it around here somewhere… Oh, yes.  I haven’t exactly been neglecting my laptop.  My author page on Amazon is now up-to-date with all currently available anthologies and publications containing my work.  And I have been working diligently on proofreading contributions to Dark Continents’ forthcoming novella-length e-book series, to be launched early in 2012.  There will even be a mini-collection of four short stories from me and fellow Kiwi DCP member John Irvine in the series.  My two stories, The Harvesters and The Light Box, are somewhat atypical of my work in that they feature two traditional horror monsters. Which two?  Make it your New Year’s Resolution to purchase the collection for your Kindle or Nook, and you’ll find out…

Comments

Leave a Reply

